Is Cool Whip vegan? Cool Whip is a popular whipped topping that can be used on top of pies, cakes, ice cream or on a favorite dessert. But is it vegan? Unfortunately, no it's not.
Cool Whip is not made with heavy whipping cream but it still has ingredients made from milk products. There are several varieties of Cool Whip including extra-creamy, sugar free, lite, and fat free and unfortunately they all contain dairy. Below are the ingredients for the different varieties of Cool Whip.
Ingredients for Cool Whip Varieties
All of the varieties contain corn syrup and hydrogenated oils which are extremely unhealthy. Many of the ingredients also sound like they are coming out of a chemistry lab. Check out the ingredients lists below. Non-vegan ingredients are in bold.
Original Cool Whip Ingredients: Water, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), skim milk, contains less than 2% of light cream, sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, xantham and guar gums, modified food starch, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphate, beta carotene (color).
Cool Whip Extra Creamy Ingredients: skim milk, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), high fructose corn syrup, water, corn syrup, light cream, contains less than 2% of sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphate, beta carotene (color).
Sugar Free Cool Whip Ingredients: water, corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), contains less than 2% of sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, modified food starch, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 60, sorbitan monostearate, sodium polyphosphate, acesulfame potassium and aspartame, beta carotene (color).
Cool Whip Lite Ingredients: water, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), contains less than 2% of modified food starch, sodium caseinate (from milk), xanthan and guar gums ,polysorbate 60, polysorbate 65, sorbitan monostearate, sodium hydroxide, natural and artificial flavor, beta carotene (color).
Fat Free Cool Whip Ingredients: water, corn syrup, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm kernel oils), high fructose corn syrup, contains less than 2% of modified food starch, sodium caseinate (from milk), natural and artificial flavor, xanthan and guar gums, polysorbate 65, sorbitan monostearate, sodium hydroxide, polysorbate 60, beta carotene (color).
Cool Whip Mix
Did you know that Cool Whip also comes as a mix in a box? It does and it also unfortunately contains milk.
Cool Whip Mix 5.2 oz Box Ingredients: Sugar, dextrose, palm kernel oil, dried corn syrup, modified cornstarch, propylene glycol monostearate, sodium caseinate (from milk), acetylated monoglycerides, sodium aluminosilicate, modified cellulose, mono- and diglycerides, cellulose gel, cellulose gum, natural and artificial flavor, caramel color.
Vegan Alternatives From A Store?
Is there Vegan Cool Whip? Not yet, but the good news is that there are other dairy-free varieties. Aerosol canned kinds are made from almond milk or coconut milk. One of my favorite's is Trader Joe's Coconut Whipped Topping. It's excellent on desserts or on top of a mug of hot cocoa. I also think it's a perfect topping for graham crackers with a few vegan chocolate chips on top. Try it out!
If you don't want the coconut flavor, Reddi Whip makes a canned whipped topping with almond milk which has a much more neutral flavor. They also have their own Non-Dairy Coconut whipped topping.
Tub Varieties of Vegan Whipped Topping
There are several tub varieties that can fit in with a vegan diet as well. So Delicious makes Coco Whip, a delicious coconut whipped topping.
So Delicious Coco Whip Ingredients: Filtered Water, Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Organic Cane Sugar, Pea Protein, Guar Gum, Sunflower Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Natural Flavor.
365 (Whole Foods brand) Non-Dairy Plant-Based Whipped Topping is one of my favorites. It tastes more like regular Cool Whip since it's not made with either almond or coconut milk.
365 Non-Dairy Plant-Based Whipped Topping Ingredients: Water, Expeller Pressed Palm Kernel Oil, Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Tapioca Maltodextrin, Soy Protein Concentrate, Natural Flavors, Pea Protein, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Soy Lecithin (Emulsifier), Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum.
All of these options are not only good for vegans, but also great for those following a lactose-free diet. Check out their ingredients below.
Vegan Whipped Topping Recipes
But is there a dairy-free alternative that you can make yourself? There are many different vegan whipped cream recipes. One popular way is using coconut cream as the main ingredient.
How to Make Coconut Whipped Cream by Minimalist Baker shows how to make homemade coconut whipped cream and the best kinds of coconut cream or full-fat coconut milk to use. This is a great recipe but realize that it will have a coconut flavor to it.
Another popular way to make vegan whipped topping is using a can of chickpeas. Seriously. But you aren't using the chickpeas themselves but rather the watery liquid that they are in, called aquafaba. It's relatively easy and uses only a few ingredients.
With the aquafaba, you'll also need cream of tartar, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar or sweetener of choice. Some recipes also call for a little oil. If you'd like to try it out, check out Aquafaba Whipped Cream - The Best Vegan Whipped Cream by The Hidden Veggies.
Dairy-Free Heavy Whipping Cream
While there are several options for dairy-free whipped topping that are ready made, you can also make your own whipped cream from vegan whipping cream. Silk brand makes Dairy Free Heavy Whipping Cream Alternative. You can use this in place of regular heavy whipping cream to make whipped cream or in other recipes.
What to Make with Cool Whip's Vegan Alternative?
So you've either made some homemade vegan cool whip or you've bought some vegan alternatives from the store. What next?
- Put it on top of pies or cakes.
- Dip some fruit in it.
- Put some on top of hot chocolate - my favorite way!
- Turn your breakfast favorites into a treat by topping vegan pancakes and waffles with it.
- Grab a bowl, slice up a banana, add some peanut butter, vegan whipped topping, and chocolate chips. Try it out. You won't be disappointed.
- Or check out one of the many recipes online that use cool whip. Trifle recipes often use it.
Does Cool Whip have gelatin in it?
No, there is no gelatin in any of the Cool Whip varieties.
Is Cool Whip vegetarian-friendly?
Yes! While it is not vegan, vegetarians can eat Cool Whip.
So what is the best Cool Whip substitute? That's for you to decide. There are many options at the grocery store for you to try out and find your favorite. Or grab a whisk or a mixer and try to make one yourself!
Wondering if other foods are vegan? Check out: