Marshmallow Fluff, a popular brand of marshmallow creme, is the sweet, sticky spread that has a variety of uses. Pair it with peanut butter and you have a delicious Fluffernutter sandwich. Or you can put a spoonful on top of some hot chocolate. But is Marshmallow Fluff vegan? As of now, no, Marshmallow Fluff is not vegan. Read on to learn more.
All nutritional information can be found on the Marshmallow Fluff website.
Marshmallow Fluff Uses
There are a ton of different ways to use Marshmallow Fluff including:
- Rice Crispy Treats
- Topping a hot drink
- Topping ice cream
- In fudge
- In cookies
- Fluffernutter sandwich
- Whoopie pies
- And much more!
Marshmallow Fluff Ingredients
There are only 4 common ingredients in Marshmallow Fluff which are listed below. Any ingredients containing animal products will be in bold.
Marshmallow Fluff Ingredients: CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, EGG WHITE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR
Unfortunately, Marshmallow Fluff contains egg whites and is therefore not vegan.
Vegan Marshmallow Fluff Brand
The good news is that there is soon to be a brand of Vegan Marshmallow Fluff. Dandies brand, a company that makes delicious vegan gelatin-free marshmallows, is soon to be releasing their own Vegan Marshmallow Cream. While it is not currently listed on their website, the news last year was that they were supposed to be released the summer of 2022. Check out Dandies is Launching Vegan Marshmallow Fluff at VegNews.
Vegan Marshmallow Fluff Recipes
You can easily make your own Vegan Marshmallow Fluff at home with the following ingredients including vegan marshmallows:
- Dandies Mini Marshmallows (or regular Dandies cut in pieces)
- Liquid from one can of chickpeas (aquafaba)
- Cream of tartar
- Powdered sugar
This vegan marshmallow fluff recipe uses aquafaba (chickpea liquid) instead of egg whites. You'll also need a stand mixer or a bowl with a hand mixer. It whips up light and fluffy. Check out the full recipe of Vegan Marshmallow Fluff from the Dandies website.
Or do you want to make marshmallow fluff without using marshmallows? Check out Easy Vegan Marshmallow Fluff by It Doesn't Taste Like Chicken. This vegan fluff tastes like traditional marshmallows but doesn't use gelatin and is easier to make - no candy thermometer needed. You can use this in place regular marshmallow fluff in your holiday drinks, on top of sweet potato casserole, and in candies and other treats. This recipe uses the following ingredients:
- Vanilla extract
- Cream of tartar
- White sugar
Vegan Smores With Marshmallow Fluff
If you've made your own vegan marshmallow fluff and are looking to make something besides fluffernutter, you can make your own vegan smores! There are vegan graham crackers and chocolate that you can find in your local grocery stores. I love using dairy free chocolate chips from Trader Joe's. Vegan marshmallow fluff can toast just like regular marshmallows...just not on a skewer over an open fire.
Other Vegan Options
Smuckers Spoonable Marshmallow Flavored Topping
While technically not the same as Marshmallow Fluff, Smuckers makes a marshmallow flavored ice cream topping that does not contain egg whites or gelatin. Let's check out the ingredients list below:
Smuckers Marshmallow Flavored Topping Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Water, Modified Corn Starch, Contains 2% Or Less Of: Cellulose Gel, Titanium Dioxide (Color), Artificial Flavor, Cellulose Gum, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Blue 2 Lake.
Luckily, there is no gelatin or egg whites and it can be considered vegan! It doesn't have the exact same consistency, but if you really are in the mood for a fluffernutter, it can work in a pinch.
Walden Farms Marshmallow Dessert Dip
Again, this is not the same things as regular Marshmallow Fluff as it's meant as more of a dip then a spread. But it could still be used in a fluffernutter and is vegan-friendly. Let's check out the ingredients below:
Walden Farms Marshmallow Dessert Dip Ingredients: Water, Erythritol, Xanthan Gum, Titanium Dioxide (for color), Natural Flavors, Corn Fiber, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Cellulose Gum, Lactic Acid, Gellan Gum, salt, Sodium Citrate, Stevia Leaf Extract
Using one of these two options is probably the easiest way to get a creamy marshmallow spread.
Is Marshmallow Fluff gluten free?
Yes, Marshmallow Fluff is gluten free!
Is Marshmallow Fluff vegetarian?
Yes, Marshmallow Fluff is vegetarian as vegetarians can eat eggs.
Is Marshmallow Fluff dairy free?
Yes. It does not contain any dairy.
Is Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Creme vegan?
Unfortunately, Kraft brand also contains egg whites and is not vegan.
Is cane sugar vegan?
Some vegans worry about white sugar because of the use of bone char. According to Peta.org, "Bone char—often referred to as natural carbon—is widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows the sugar cane to achieve its desirable white color."
So cane sugar doesn't technically contain any animal products. But, the desire for sugar to have a pure white color makes some companies use animals bones in the production of it. It's up to you whether or not you consume regular sugar but some strict vegans choose to avoid it.
Are marshmallows vegan?
No, regular marshmallows contain gelatin and are not vegan. There are vegan brands of marshmallows that only contain plant-based foods.
Marshmallow fluff has the taste of conventional marshmallows but with a fluffy texture. It's delicious on a sandwich with peanut butter or with banana slices. For a lot of people, a fluffernutter sandwich is beloved food that vegans would also like to enjoy.
Unfortunately, Marshmallow Fluff isn't vegan as it contains egg whites but there are a few vegan options, for now mostly making your own. You can easily make your own vegan marshmallow fluff using vegan marshmallows or without them. The good news is that Dandies brand is supposed to be releasing their own vegan marshmallow creme...hopefully soon!
Wondering if other products are vegan? Check out: