Is Stove Top Stuffing vegan? Stuffing (or dressing) is a classic side dish during the holidays. But it's also delicious to eat any time of year. If you can find a vegan boxed stuffing mix, you can then add veggie broth and vegan butter instead of regular butter and chicken broth to make it fit in with a vegan diet.
Whether you want to have stuffing on your holiday table or just as a tasty side dish, you may be wondering Is Stove Top Stuffing vegan? Read on to find out.
All of the ingredients can be found on the Stove Top Stuffing website.
There are eight different varieties of Stove Top Stuffing. But are any of them vegan? Below are the different flavors and any animal products they contain.
- Chicken: Contains dried cooked chicken and chicken broth
- Traditional Sage: Contains dried cooked chicken and chicken fat
- Everyday Stuffing Mix: Contains dried cooked chicken and chicken broth
- Turkey: Contains dried cooked turkey and turkey broth
- Lower Sodium Chicken: Contains dried cooked chicken and chicken broth
- Savory Herb: Contains dried cooked chicken and chicken broth
- Cornbread: Contains dried cooked chicken
All of these flavors contain animal products and are not vegan. However, there is one flavor that "may" be vegan. Here are the ingredients for the pork flavor.
Pork Stove Top Stuffing Ingredients: Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Onions (Dried), Contains Less than 2% of Salt, Yeast, Interesterified Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Celery (Dried), Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Caramel Color, Parsley (Dried), Spice, Sugar, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Turmeric (Color), Corn Syrup Solids, Monosodium Glutamate, Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Inosinate, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor, Modified Food Starch, with BHA, BHT and Rosemary Extract as Preservatives.
Somehow, there are no animal ingredients listed for the Stove Top Pork Stuffing mix and it is therefore vegan-friendly.
Vegan Brands of Stuffing Mixes
Unfortunately, most flavors of Stove Top Stuffing aren't vegan. The good news is that there are several other brands of stuffing that have plant-based ingredients.
- 365 (Whole Foods) Organic Multigrain Stuffing Mix (NOT the Traditional flavor as it contains chicken)
- Arrowhead Mills Organic Savory Herb Stuffing
- Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned Classic Stuffing Mix
- Mrs. Cubbison Seasoned Cornbread Stuffing
- Aldi Chef's Cupboard Stuffing
Classic Vegan Stuffing Recipe
Stuffing is an absolute must for my vegan-friendly holiday menu. I love the taste of traditional stuffing with fresh herbs. If you are looking for an easy recipe for classic stuffing, check out my recipe for Best Vegan Stuffing.
You can use any combination of breads you like. I usually like to use both white bread and wheat bread. While I mostly cook with dried herbs and spices, this is one dish where I always use fresh herbs as it's the best part. The ingredients in this recipe are:
- vegan butter
- vegetable broth
- fresh sage
- fresh parsley
- fresh thyme
- fresh rosemary
- salt and pepper
You can make this recipe the day before you need it to save yourself some time. If you like sausage in your stuffing, you can add some cooked and crumbled vegan sausage for a tasty addition.
Vegan Stove Top Recipe
Do you want to replicate the flavors of Stove Top Stuffing Mix in a vegan recipe? Check out Easy Vegan Stove Top Stuffing by It Doesn't Taste Like Chicken. The recipe contains the following ingredients:
- vegan butter
- dried cranberries
- vegetable broth
- dried seasonings: thyme, rosemary, sage, salt and black pepper
This quick recipe is ready in only 30 minutes!
Is Stove Top Pork Stuffing vegan?
Cautiously, yes. There are no obvious animal ingredients in the For Pork flavor of Stove Top stuffing.
Is Stove Top Stuffing healthy?
No. Stove Top contains plenty of MSG and corn syrup. It is not healthy.
Is Butterball Stuffing vegan?
No. Butterball Stuffing contain turkey and other animal ingredients including gelatin.
Is Uncle Ben's Stuffing vegan?
Unfortunately, Uncle Ben's contains chicken ingredients and the cornbread variety contains dairy.
Is Trader Joe's Cornbread Stuffing Mix vegan?
No. This stuffing mix contains both powdered chicken fat and powdered chicken broth.
Is Stove Top Stuffing gluten-free?
No, it's not gluten-free and they do not have any gluten-free varieties.
What's not to love about stuffing? It's a combination of a blend of breads, vegan butter, vegetable stock, veggies and seasonings. Using a box of stuffing mix is a shortcut if you don't have the time or just don't want to make homemade stuffing. Unfortunately, only the For Pork flavor of Stove Top Stuffing is vegan. But there are other brands of stuffing mix that can fit in with a vegan diet. Or try making your own stuffing from the recipes above!
Wondering if other food are vegan? Check out:
- Are Pillsbury Biscuits Vegan?
- Is Bisquick Vegan?
- Are Maruchan Ramen Noodles Vegan?
- Is Cream of Wheat Vegan?
Looking for vegan holiday recipes for Thanksgiving dinner? Check out:
Leave a Reply