There aren't a ton of vegan options at Dairy Queen. Dairy Queen is famous for its soft serve ice cream creations. Especially their Blizzards! But there is also regular food served there such as burgers and chicken sandwiches. The vast majority of their menu items contain animal products. But what are the vegan options at Dairy Queen? Read on to find out.
All nutritional and allergen information can be found on Dairy Queen's website. All items may not be served at all Dairy Queen locations.
Vegan Treat Options
Ice Cream Novelties
As of now, the only vegan ice cream option is the Non-Dairy Dilly Bar. It is a great option!! It has a coconut oil and coconut cream base. But surprisingly, it doesn't have a strong coconut flavor. Check out the ingredients below.
- Non-Dairy Dilly Bar Ingredients: Bar (Sugar, Corn Syrup, Maltodextrin, Coconut Oil, Coconut Cream, Contains 2% Or Less Of Vanilla Extract, Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Carob Bean Gum, Mono & Diglycerides), Coating (Coconut Oil, Sugar, Cocoa Processes With Alkali, Corn Starch, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Natural Flavor).
Dairy Queen serves a variety of dessert drinks. The only ones made without cow’s milk are the Misty Slushes.
- Mango Misty Slush
- Misty Slush
- Pink Punch Misty Slush
- Poolside Punch Twisty Misty
Vegan Food Options
There is one option for a vegan salad. You can order it with the Marzetti Light Italian Dressing. This salad does not contain any cheese or croutons so you do not need to make any modifications.
- Side Salad
While there aren't and kids meal options that do not contain animal ingredients, there are a few sides.
There are two sides that can fit in with a vegan diet. Their French fries are fried in soybean oil which is good news as some restaurants fry their food in animal lard. However, there is always a risk of cross contamination with fried foods unless there is a dedicated fryer which Dairy Queen does not have.
- French Fries
- Pretzel Sticks (Order without the zesty queso dip)
Vegan Salad Dressings and Sauces
There are a few vegan sauces and dressings to go with your French fries and salad.
- BBQ Dipping Sauce Cup
- Marzetti Light Italian Dressing
- Wild Buffalo Dipping Sauce Cup
Not all locations serve breakfast. But if your local Dairy Queen does, here are the following vegan options.
- Orange Juice
- Hash Browns
Add Ons and Toppings
There is a pretty good variety of vegan Add Ons. I'm not exactly sure how one could use these, but it's good that they have them.
- Chocolate Topping
- Diced Tomato
- OREO Cookie Pieces
- Pineapple Topping
- Strawberry Topping
- Vanilla Syrup
- Yellow Mustard
Vegan Meal Idea
Unfortunately, there's not much beyond the "classic" vegan meal of a side salad and fries at Dairy Queen. However, a possible meal idea would be:
- Side salad with light Italian dressing
- Fries with BBQ dipping sauce
- Banana (on the kids menu)
- Non-Dairy Dilly Bar for dessert
Are the Dairy Queen Onion Rings vegan?
No, their Onion Rings contain milk.
Does Dairy Queen have a veggie burger or any vegan burgers?
No, there isn't a veggie burger at Dairy Queen nor do they serve a Beyond Burger or an Impossible Burger.
Are the Dairy Queen fries vegan?
Yes, the fries do not contain any animal ingredients. But there is always the risk of cross contamination in a shared fryer.
Is a Misty Freeze vegan?
No, unfortunately the Misty Freezes contain dairy products.
Is the Orange Julius vegan?
No, the Orange Julius contains dairy.
Does Dairy Queen serve any vegan ice cream?
Yes! Dairy Queen has the vegan dilly bars which are delicious! Unfortunately, there is no vegan soft serve.
The Non-Dairy Dilly Bar contains sugar. Is sugar vegan?
Some vegans worry about white sugar because of the use of bone char. According to Peta.org, "Bone char—often referred to as natural carbon—is widely used by the sugar industry as a decolorizing filter, which allows the sugar cane to achieve its desirable white color." So cane sugar doesn't technically contain any animal products. But, the desire for sugar to have a pure white color makes some companies use animals bones in the production of it. It's up to you whether or not you consume regular sugar.
Where can I get the best vegan ice cream?
I have found Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy ice cream to be the absolute best. It can be found at most grocery stores. My personal favorite is the Non-Dairy Cherry Garcia but all of the flavors I've tried have been delicious!
When you are living the vegan lifestyle, you are usually trying to eat healthy. But sometimes you need a sweet treat. Luckily, Dairy Queen now serves the Dairy-Free Dilly Bar. They also have a few savory vegan options including a side salad, fries, and Dairy Queen's pretzel sticks. While it's not necessarily a vegan-friendly restaurant, there are a few options if you happen to be at a Dairy Queen.
Wondering what's vegan at other fast-food chains? Check out: