As Papa John's is a restaurant chain that serves mainly pizza and a few sides, there aren't a ton of vegan options at Papa John's. While they do not have a dedicated vegan menu, they do have some options that fit in with a vegan diet. So what are the vegan options at Papa John's? Read on to find out the vegan menu items and their ingredients.
All ingredients, nutritional and allergen information can be found on the Papa John's website.
Vegan Pizza Options
While they do not have any vegan cheese at Papa John's, you can make a cheese-free pizza. Their original and thin crust pizza dough is vegan as well as a couple sauces and vegetable toppings. You can also add one of their special sauces on top or dip your pizza in it. So you can order your own pizza your way. While they are listed below, the ingredients can also be found on the Papa John's Ingredients Page.
Note: Their gluten-free crust contains both dairy and egg.
There are now two pizza crust options that are vegan-friendly. Let's check out the ingredients below.
- Original Pizza Dough Ingredients: Unbleached enriched wheat flour, water, sugar, soybean oil, salt, yeast.
- Thin Crust Ingredients: Wheat Flour, Water, Soybean Oil, Contains 2% or less of the following: Yeast, Salt, Preservative (Cultured Wheat Starch, Citric Acid), White Distilled Vinegar, Natural Flavors, Dextrose, Soy Lecithin.
There are two vegan sauce options.
- Original Pizza Sauce Ingredients: Fresh vine-ripened tomatoes (our tomatoes are freshly packed from vine to can in the same day), sunflower oil, sugar, salt, garlic, spices, extra virgin olive oil, citric acid (maintains freshness).
- BBQ Sauce Ingredients: Water, sugar, brown sugar, tomato paste, vinegar, salt, food starch-modified (used to thicken sauces), chili pepper, cumin, chipotle pepper, oregano, chili pepper, mustard flour, garlic, spices.
The good news is that they have some great options for vegetable toppings at Papa John's. Note: Not all toppings are available at all locations.
- Banana peppers
- Black Olives
- Green Olives
- Green peppers
- Jalapeno peppers
- Roma tomatoes
Vegan Menu Options
While there isn't an extensive list of vegan options at Papa John's, there are a few items other than pizza.
There is only one side made without animal products.
- Original Breadsticks Ingredients: Unbleached enriched wheat flour, water, sugar, soybean oil, salt, yeast.
There are several different dipping sauces for the pizza and breadsticks that are vegan.
- BBQ Dipping Sauce Ingredients: Water, sugar, tomato paste, molasses, vinegar, salt, food starch-modified (ingredient used to thicken sauces), natural smoke flavor, spices, onion, garlic, natural flavor.
- Buffalo Dipping Sauce Ingredients: Hot sauce (aged red pepper, vinegar, salt, garlic), water, vinegar, sugar, salt, soybean oil, xanthan gum, spices, paprika.
- Pizza Dipping Sauce Ingredients: Fresh vine-ripened tomatoes (our tomatoes are freshly packed from vine to can in about six hours), sunflower oil, sugar, salt, garlic, spices, extra virgin olive oil, citric acid (maintains freshness).
- Signature Garlic Dipping Sauce #1 Ingredients: Soybean oil, water, salt, vegetable mono & diglycerides (maintains sauce consistency), garlic, natural flavors, soy lecithin (maintains sauce consistency), lactic acid (maintains freshness), sodium benzoate (maintains freshness), calcium disodium EDTA (maintains freshness), citric acid (maintains freshness), natural beta carotene (for color), vitamin A palmitate (enhances flavor).
- Signature Garlic Dipping Sauce #2 Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Salt, Contains less than 2% of Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Garlic*, Natural Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Vegetable Mono and Diglycerides, Lactic Acid, Sodium Benzoate (a preservative), Calcium Disodium EDTA added to protect flavor, Citric Acid, Beta Carotene (color), Vitamin A Palmitate added. *Dehydrated
- Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
- Special Seasonings
- There are no vegan dessert options.
Are Papa John’s Garlic Knots Vegan?
Unfortunately, their garlic knots are not vegan as they contain dairy ingredients. Here are the ingredients:
Garlic Knots Ingredients: Unbleached, enriched wheat flour, water, sugar, soybean oil, salt, yeast, soybean oil, Parmesan cheese (pasteurized milk, cheese culture, salt, enzymes), contains less than 2% of: vegetable mono & diglycerides, garlic, wheat starch, spices, natural flavors, onion, phosphoric acid, parsley, red bell pepper, soy lecithin, extractive of paprika, lactic acid, sodium benzoate (maintains freshness), calcium disodium EDTA (maintains freshness), citric acid, vitamin A palmitate, beta carotene (color).
Papa John's History
According to About Us on Papa John's website, the first Papa John's pizza was made more than 30 years ago in Jeffersonville, IN. They now have over 5,000 locations in 45 countries all over the world.
Are Papa John's Breadsticks Vegan?
Yes they are! The ingredients are listed above. No need to forgo the breadsticks.
Is Papa John’s garlic sauce vegan?
Yes! The garlic sauce is vegan along with the BBQ, Buffalo and Pizza dipping sauces.
Do they have any vegan meats?
No, they do not have any plant-based meat at this time. Perhaps in the future they'll have vegan pepperoni or sausage but they are not there yet.
Does Papa John’s have vegan cheese?
No, they don't have any dairy-free cheese. If you want to have a vegan pizza it needs to be without cheese.
Does Papa John's have an allergen guide?
Yes. Here is their Allergen Guide.
Although they don't have any vegan cheese at Papa John's, you can still make your own vegan pizza. Their original crust is vegan and you can put regular or BBQ pizza sauce on it. Add veggie toppings and Papa John’s original breadsticks and you have a great meal option. While it would be great if there were a vegan cheese option, the cheese-less pizza is a great choice if you are at a Papa John's. Hopefully in the future they will have plant-based meats and cheeses and expand their vegan offerings.
Wondering what's vegan at other chain restaurants? Check out:
Leave a Reply