Subway is branded as a healthy fast-food chain that specializes in sandwiches. Aside from the different kinds of meat and cheese, they also have a sizeable selection of fresh vegetables and a veggie patty. The restaurant chain has a fair amount of vegan and vegetarian options compared to other fast food places. With all the veggie options, it's healthier as well. So what are the vegan options at Subway? Read on to see everything that's available.
NOTE: All nutritional and allergen information can be found on Subway’s Website and are for locations in the United States only.
Is Subway’s Veggie Patty Vegan?
There has been some confusion over whether or not the veggie patty is vegan. Let's check out the ingredient list from the most recent guide.
Subway Veggie Patty Ingredients and Nutritional Information
Veggie Patty Ingredients: Carrots, Onions, Green Beans, Oat Bran, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Zucchini, Soybeans, Peas, Broccoli, Corn, Soy Flour, Spinach, Red Bell Peppers, Arrowroot Powder, Garlic, Corn Starch, Corn Meal, Salt, Methyl Cellulose, Parsley, Black Pepper.
Veggie Patty Nutritional Information: 170 calories, 9 grams of fat, 1 gram of saturated fat, 0 grams of trans fat, 0 grams of cholesterol, 320 mg of sodium, 17 grams of carbohydrates, 8 grams of dietary fiber, 2 grams of sugar, 0 grams of added sugar, 6 grams of protein
The good news is that Veggie Patties are now vegan in the US! They do not contain any ingredients from animal products. They are also a good source of soy protein and an excellent source of fiber. That being said, this vegan patty is not available at all Subways, only select locations.
Subway Vegan Bread Options
There are many different bread and roll options at Subway. Some are vegan while other contain dairy or eggs. The list below is the current offerings of vegan bread.
- Artisan Italian (White) Bread
- Hearty Multigrain
- Plain Wraps
- Spinach Wraps
- Tomato Basil Wraps
- Artisan Flatbread - NOTE: The Artisan Flatbread is labeled as "May Contain Milk". That being said, I only worry about "May Contain" when it comes to food allergies.
Vegan Ingredients at Subway Restaurants
There are a good number of vegetables available for your sandwich. So pile them high on your sandwich order. Note: The avocado may cost extra.
- Avocado (Sliced or Smashed)
- Banana Peppers
- Black Olives
- Green Peppers
- Jalapeno Pepper Slices
- Red Onions
Vegan Subway Sauces, Condiments & Seasoning
There are some sauces and condiments that are vegan as well.
- Barbeque Sauce
- Buffalo Sauce
- Oil Blend
- Red Wine Vinegar
- Salt and Pepper
- Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce
There are two sides that can be vegan.
- Chips...but you need to check the ingredients list on the package.
Unfortunately, none of the cookies are vegan.
There are three basic sandwich options if you're ordering vegan.
- Veggie Delite Sandwich - This sandwich is on the Hearty Multigrain bread and comes with lettuce, tomatoes, spinach, cucumbers, green peppers and red onions with your choice of dressing. Of course you can make any changes or additions you'd like.
- Veggie Patty - Choose your bread, add the Veggie Patty and all the vegetables you like, and the seasonings and sauces.
- Build Your Own Sandwich - Just choose your vegan bread, veggies, and dressings.
If I'm on a road trip and we stop at a Subway, this is my sandwich order: Hearty Multigrain Bread, smashed avocado, lettuce, tomatoes, red onions, banana peppers (my favorite!), black olives and cucumbers, with some salt and pepper, red wine vinegar and oil. While not a perfect lunch, it's better than what I could find at the vast majority of fast-food restaurants and much healthier too.
Subway UK Vegan Options
For some reason, there are way more vegan options at the Subways in the UK including plant-based meats. I'm including this list because I'm hoping they will soon come to the United States.
- T.L.C. (Tastes. Like. Chicken) - A chicken sandwich made with plant-based meat.
- Meatless Meatball Marinara - Not only do they have vegan meatballs, you can also add vegan cheese slices! This sandwich is an excellent source of vegan protein with about 23 grams of protein for a 6" sub.
- Plant Patty - They also have a veggie patty.
- Hash Browns
- Vegan Double Choc Cookie - Seriously?! They even have vegan cookies!
Is the Subway multigrain bread vegan?
Good news! The multigrain bread does not contain any animal ingredients.
Do they have any Beyond Meat at Subway?
Not yet they don't, at least not in the United States.
Is there any vegan cheese at subway?
No, in the there aren't any vegan cheese options yet at US locations.
Is the Subway Veggie Patty vegan?
Yes! It is now listed as vegan and does not contain any animal ingredients.
My local Subway doesn't have the veggie patty option. What can I do?
I would recommend talking to the manager at your Subway about it as well as contacting Subway through their website.
Is the Roasted Garlic Aioli vegan?
Unfortunately, the garlic aioli contains egg yolks and is not vegan.
What happened to the Subway Vinaigrette?
Unfortunately, the Subway Vinaigrette is not longer listed on the menu. I'm not sure when/if it was discontinued.
Are any Subway cookies vegan?
As of now, there are no vegan cookies at Subway.
While most vegans wouldn't seek out a Subway to eat at, there are some decent vegan options if you are at one. They have lots of veggies to put on your sandwich and avocado is a great addition. Although not available everywhere, the Veggie Patty is a good source of protein and an excellent source of fiber.
Subway definitely has healthier vegan options than most fast-food restaurants. While they currently don't have any plant-based meat, I'm hopeful there will be options in the future as there are already some choices at the UK locations of Subway.
Wondering what's vegan at other chain restaurants? Check out:
Leave a Reply